I spent a lot of money back at the time and maxed out many characters, now when I login it says I have no characters
where did all my progress go?

Character's on an En Masse Account are not deleted after a long duration of being absent from the game.

In this case, the most likely scenario is that you're logging in with one Email you had thought you had used, but instead, the character's were actually created with an alternative Email.