We have gotten enough questions about character renames and the server merge that we felt a clarification of the process might be helpful.

The process is automated, and basically works like a flowchart:

10c1db752faec69d9504d004f2ba21c460aea79b.png

We feel that overall play time is the fairest way to determine who gets to keep any given character name. After all, if you’ve put in a lot of work on your character “Fluffy.Bunny,” and someone else created their own “Fluffy.Bunny”—maybe in an attempt to “camp” the name—it wouldn’t be fair to you to give that player the name just because they logged in more recently.